Michael Vergauwen Scholarship


Applications for the 2020-2021 academic year are now open. Apply Today!


About the Scholarship

Two students in pursuit of a technical or advanced degree towards an audiovisual career will be awarded a $2,500 scholarship to go towards tuition.

Application Completion Checklist

To ensure your application package is complete, enclose the following:

  • A copy of your student ID number, and date of birth
  • One signed letter of recommendation on letterhead from a current/previous employer and one from school faculty/administrator (or two letters of recommendation from faculty/administrator if not previously employed)
  • Typed essay — handwritten essays will not be considered

To complete your application, your college or university must also forward the following directly to the AVIXA Foundation:

  • An official transcript that includes the current semester/quarter.

Learn more about the AVIXA Foundation

Scholarship Awarded for 2019

Rachel Brown | AVIXA

Rachel Brown

Rachel Brown is a junior at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities majoring interior design and minoring in architecture. As an interior designer, Rachel does not design for what she knows, only for what she hopes to accomplish. She knows that in order to make a space user-friendly and purposeful, she will need to collaborate closely with AV engineers. As Rachel grew-up her father made sure to point out AV systems, their purpose and if they were fulfilling their purpose. With this knowledge, she grew to understand the importance of AV systems within a design space. In addition to her full-time studies, Brown has interned at Collage Architects, an architectural firm specializing in residential and mixed-use projects, where she has been responsible for creating visual packages, producing drawings in CAD and Revit, and participating in client meetings.

Ryan DeMello | AVIXA

Ryan DeMello

Ryan DeMello is a junior at Oregon State University. DeMello began working in Oregon State’s Academic Technology Department as a support technician while in high school, exhibiting a vast working knowledge of presentation technologies while helping students and professors use campus technology. He has also helped provide AV services for a local event production company.

Michael Vergauwen's Legacy

Vergauwen_Michael-110x140The memorial fund honors Michael Vergauwen's career achievements in the AV communications industry and his participation in and leadership of the association. Vergauwen's dedication to the industry and to its members serves as a role model for all AVIXA members.


Michael Vergauwen was the COO of AVI Systems and a long-time board member of AVIXA.

Michael took pride in awarding $200,000 in scholarships to deserving recipients. He strongly believed that growth in the AV industry comes from providing opportunities and support to those wanting to enter the industry and those seeking to develop their careers.

His talent — and his kindness — strengthened the AV community. After his death in 2009, AVIXA created this scholarship to carry on his beliefs of strengthening and growing the AV industry through education.

"Michael Vergauwen was a valued member of the Board of Directors and was a tireless advocate for the audiovisual industry. He offered wise counsel and was a good friend to so many of us in the association's family. He will be missed greatly."
Jay Rogina, CTS
CEO Spinitar

Do you have a Michael Verguawen memory you would like to share? Email membership@avixa.org.

Upcoming Events

Webinar: Audio- und Video-installationen – Welche Normen gibt es, wer hat diese geschrieben?
23 October 2019

RU Available

AVIXA Networking Social, Manila
23 October 2019


InfoComm Colombia 2019, Bogotá
23 October 2019-25 October 2019

RU Available